Twisted Bridge

09Jun10

I hadn’t even spotted this bridge between the Royal Opera House and its neighbouring building across the street until I saw some one standing back and shooting up.  I tried that, but I thought a better sense of the unusual architecture was gained by shooting pretty much straight up.  This twisted bridge connects the Royal Opera House (on the right) and the Royal School of Ballet (on the left).

.

However, in common with a lot of architectural shots, the geometry makes this an excellent candidate for a black and white treatment.

A GX200 shot converted from raw in RPP and imported into Aperture.  A little tweaking bringing out the shadows and pulling back the highlights was about the sum of the adjustment.  The conversion to B&W was carried out in Silver Efex Pro using the architecture preset, but this required a lot of pulling back of highlights and shadows.  I like the end result though.



One Response to “Twisted Bridge”

  1. 1 singraham

    striking architecture and a striking image! Both of them, but on this one, I like the color better. 🙂


Leave a comment