Closed Door

31Aug10

I have been at this blog for about eight months now and bar a day here of there missed while I have been travelling I have pretty much managed a picture a day.  Rather reluctantly, but definitely, I have decided that I need to draw this to an end for now.  It has been very demanding in terms of my very limited time and I feel I just can’t keep this up.  I am extremely grateful for everybody who has helped me by commenting on  my images – some good, some not so good – that I have posted.

To finish with here is a detail from the Catalan village of Peratellada, which we walked through yesterday.  While very photogenic, the crowded streets make it very difficult to take a picture of the whole.  Inevitably you are forced into concentrating on details.  This village seemed to have a thing for the colour blue: blue plant pots, blue window frames and blue doors.  I liked this old door, not only for the faded colour, but also the texture of the paint, the wood and the surrounding stone.  It is very typical of the doors in these Catalan villages.

This was a shot developed from Raw in RPP (using a Kodachrome 64 preset, for nostalgia’s sake) and imported into Aperture 3 for finishing off.   This was limited to adding a little Definition, a slight s-curve and a vignette.

So, that’s it for now.  Thank you to everybody (especially Steve), who have helped along the way.



One Response to “Closed Door”

  1. 1 singraham

    simply wonderful!!


Leave a comment