Dolmens

28Aug10

Deep in the cork oak forests of Catalonia we ran across a series of Neolithic grave stones.  Dolmens are found across Europe and their characteristic ‘pi’ shape belie the fact that once they would have been covered with earth to form barrows.  The chamber below would have been a grave.  These stones are almost 5,000 years old.  It was near midday with harsh shadows and the best way to deal with this was through a HDR exposure.  This has been taken from 5 images and really enabled the shadows to be opened out..  The foliage is slightly blurred by the wind, but I prefer to see this as a commentary on the permanence of the stones.

And in B&W:

After the tweaking in Photomatix, the main additional editing in Aperture was confined to adding s-curves, Definition and a little extra contrast.



2 Responses to “Dolmens”

  1. 1 Graham

    I think dolmens are fascinating. These are really good shots. Usually, given a juxtaposition of a colour and black & white image I often find myself drawn to the black & white (although I almost always take colour shots myself). This time, though, I prefer the colour shot – the colour sort of offsets and emphasises the age of the dolmen.

  2. 2 Steve

    Gteat shot. Like both treatments.


Leave a comment