An Experiment

28Jan10

This is frankly an experiment.  I had a day business trip to Liverpool by train.  Coming back through the north of England and skirting the Lake District I became frustrated by the fact that driver just wouldn’t stop so that I could take some pictures.  Then I thought why not express this speed somehow?  So, setting the focus to infinity, I took several shots as we travelled at 100 mph plus.  I was pleasantly surprised by the result, although a polarising filter would have cut down some of the slight reflection from the window.  I liked the hint of the Lake District mountains in the distance with the sinuoous shapes of the trees and hedges closer to the train.  The result is both rather impressionistic and hints at speed through the countryside.

The evening sunlight was beautiful.  It was very frustrating not to be able to capture the scenery in a more leisurely way.

This was a GX200 image (now back from being repaired – hurrah!) at the lowest ISO and smallest aperture to force the longest exposure.

The image is a straight conversion from Raw in RPP, imported into Aperture and given the normal boost to contrast, definition, saturation and vibrancy.  Finally, I applied the auto levels command.



No Responses Yet to “An Experiment”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment