The Cobbler’s Shop – Boots

28Feb10

My wife needed a pair of shoes reheeled and so we went to a cobbler’s shop in Perth which was recommended to us by a friend.  While I waited for the shoes to be repaired, I thought that this would be a good opportunity to carry out an experiment in shooting both in black and white and in square format.  I was inspired by this post by Wouter Brandsma, who shows what can be done with small cameras, notably Ricohs.  My first camera was a folding bellows camera (I can’t remember the make) which used black and white 120 film; so, this was a real case of back to the future:

This was an available light shot with the GX200 at ISO 200.  One of the GX’s weaknesses is its processing of jpeg images, but a straight development of the image from raw in Aperture 3 to recover blown highlights with a little noise reduction produced a colour image converted to black and white in Aperture.  A bit of experimentation showed that a red filter produced the best balance of tonality.



No Responses Yet to “The Cobbler’s Shop – Boots”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment