The Wreck

26Feb10

The last from the Balmerino series.  This old fishing boat has been left to moulder on the treacherous sandbanks of the Firth of Tay, which is still used for coastal shipping traffic to the port in Perth.  In the 18th century the Firth was a stronghold of smugglers running contraband from German and Dutch ports.

This was a GX200 image (wish I had brought the 135mm teleconverter).  It has been converted in Raw in RPP, and given a slight adjustment to contrast in Aperture using curves.  The jpeg shot at the same time was pretty much as good, showing that if you get it right you lose nothing from shooting in that format.

Edit: here is the photograph cropped into a square format:



4 Responses to “The Wreck”

  1. 1 singraham

    I love the range of blues in this, but the foreground branches are a bit distracting if the wreck is the subject?? 🙂

  2. 2 singraham

    My experience is that there are few times when you can do a better job converting from RAW than the camera does…at least the cameras I have used. There are a few…but they are few.

    • 3 amaczero

      I have ricocheted between Raw and jpeg. However, there are two occasions when Raw definitely is better:
      1. Recovering highlights.
      2. Difficult WB.

      the GX200 is also considered as being better in Raw than jpeg because of the particular jpeg processing engine. At 64 ISO I’m not sure there is a great difference, like you say.

      I now shoot raw/jpeg pairs and import them together into Aperture with the jpeg as the master. I only go to the raw if I need to.

  3. 4 amaczero

    hence my comment on the teleconverter. I tried to get the branches to frame the wreck – probably should have cropped the shot. Hmm, may try that.


Leave a comment